Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 16, 2018, Having started and not finished several ‘recommended reads’ from a book club I have joined since retiring, I was a bit reluctant to spend money on another that might join that growing pile of unfinished hard copies. This category only includes cookies that ensures basic functionalities and security features of the website. To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. ), Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 18, 2016, I have been working for the subsidiary of a Danish company for over 11 years and in that time never really thought about Denmark. err.innerHTML = message; var validate_field = function(elem, remove) { It also analyzes reviews to verify trustworthiness. What’s with all the crime shows? This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Helen Russell was a high-flying glossy magazine editor before moving to rural Jutland in Denmark which, despite its long dark winters, is also statistically the happiest nation on earth. You also have the option to opt-out of these cookies. Just thought I’d glance through it before wrapping. for (var i = 0; i < tooltips.length; i++) { Being Danish myself I read this book because I was curious on how an foreigner would perceive Denmark and the Danish people. Would you recommend this product to a friend? }; Or even Shakespeare and Metallica? } She now lives in rural Jutland and works as a Scandinavia correspondent for the Guardian, as well as writing a column on Denmark for the Telegraph. window._show_thank_you = function(id, message, trackcmp_url) { I was initially obsessed with getting my "hygge" on, but fell more in love with Denmark after reading this book! Monthly summaries bring it all together. I was expecting something that would be helpful; something I could apply to my life. Opened my eyes about Denmark! })(); You have entered an incorrect email address! After viewing product detail pages, look here t