Required fields are marked *. Doubanjiang is similarly versatile. Thanks for your website – I’ve been cooking sichuan since 1981 with Mrs. Chang’s cookbook and you guys have opened a new window into it. Any ideas? It adds a deep layer of umami-filled mala (spicy tongue numbingness) to authentic Sichuan dishes that’s irreplaceable. Pull up a chair and stick around for awhile, let’s be friends and eat together! I remade my mapo tofu recipe using the doubanjiang and there were a few key differences. But after making the best mapo doufu you’ve ever made, and perhaps a stellar twice-cooked pork, some of you are stumped for further ways to use it. Sorry, your blog cannot share posts by email. My husband is afraid of pickles (seriously) so I didn’t tell him this included fermented fava beans. One of my favourite snacks to make is deviled eggs. One thing to add to what the other people have said which will make a difference to your cooking is that là dòubànjiàng is much saltier than than gochujang (in addition to it being chunkier, like has been mentioned). You know, I bet with a spicy bibimbap I could go through a lot of gochujang. WHAT DOES IT TASTE LIKE?If you’ve ever eaten in, or even walked past a Korean restaurant, you’ll be familiar with the rich, yeasty fragrance of gochujang. Usually, doubanjiang comes in pouches, so we like to transfer it to a nice jar, labelled and dated (optional). Give me all the loaves masquerading as cake, but especially deep, dark, mysterious gingerbread. Whether on a Korean BBQ pan or non-stick skillet, addictive and melt in your mouth bulgogi deserves to be in your weeknight dinner rotation. Add an egg(sunnyside), green onions, carrots, sesame oil. Optionally chop up your chili flakes, then mix together with red miso until a paste is formed. You can use it as-is as a sauce to flavor stir fries, toss it with vegetables, pasta, or use it as a glaze for meats too. So not broad beans like doubanjiang, but wouldn't the flavor still be similar e