Just a bit further on, you'll be able to look back, seeing things from a different perspective, and see that most things really do happen for a reason. August 10, 2010, was a great day for Rodney Rohde – he finished his PhD. I haven't written a post since I finished my PhD. :-(. Although a doctorate is designed as training for a job in academia, the number of PhD positions is unrelated to the number of job openings. 1. I'm in a similar position - I submitted in August, and have been looking for jobs since then. My wife and I live in Canada. Economist 169c. No one will hire a phd as a research assistant- those jobs are usually for undergraduates, sometimes for masters. I submitted my thesis in December and started jobhunting immediately. Find something to busy yourself with- even if it's just some voluntary work for the moment, it will give you a reason to keep going. Finished first semester of PhD, I have a 4.0GPA. I went from working 80+ hours a week on my PhD so that I could finish without needing an extension, to working 80-90 hours a week as a new postdoc. FindAUniversity Ltd, 77 Sidney St, Sheffield, S1 4RG, UK. But they all get a good job." It's humiliating to be told that I need to hide my PhD in order to get a job, and it's embarrassing to be applying for unskilled jobs when all my friends who left university with a BSc have been in professional jobs for the last five years. But nothing about the PhD process educates you on how to find a non-academic job, apply your skills, or sell yourself to employers. I then came to the US and did another masters and subsequently a PhD. Do you know what you want to do for a care… I'm not yet in the same position as you, although I could well be by the end of the year. I'm such a failure :'(I remember the misery of long term unemployment and under-employment after my BSc and MSc, crying because I was depressed about being undervalued, and going slowly stir-crazy as my intellectual skills atrophied. My Phd is in the humanit