Diana, who’d been a star track and volleyball athlete in her youth, wanted her own eponymous special. Back up the hill to Stockton, turn right, and thread your way north through the shoppers until you approach Broadway, and the newest take on San Francisco’s 75-year-long love for Chinese American fried chicken. I ask because I always feel like the dishes could have used a bit more of the salty ingredients such as soy or sesame oil. As a former line cook, I am very familiar with the saying “You can always add, but you can’t take away.” , a slightly similar recipe but with sticky rice. Ingredients 2 tbsp. All your variations sound delicious. I’m a bit embarrassed to say, but for months I had labelled this recipe as chow mein instead of lo mein, which is the correct term due to how I prepare it. My 3 teenagers loved this. I can’t wait to try this! Until the mid-1960s, redlining, racial housing covenants, and “sundown towns” (suburbs that forced Chinese, Latinx, and Black people to leave after dark) kept Chinese Americans from moving out of Chinatown—and also fostered a deep sense of community within its blocks. I will probably use bok choy since we have limited items in our grocery store here. I also used regular soy sauce because not even my neighborhood Asian market had the dark soy sauce. // 674 Sacramento St., 415-788-2234. didn’t know the difference between chow mein and lo mein before this! “To me, it was always a bachelor restaurant,” says artist Leland LW Wong, who heads a Facebook group called I Grew Up in San Francisco Chinatown. Add the bacon and lap cheong with the garlic and onions. Now, Cheng stops in New Golden Daisy for a bucket of the butcher shop’s ginger-marinated chicken drummettes, which are dredged in rice flour before frying, forming a pale, lacy shell. Candidly, the roast pork, in all its gloopiness, might be a dish you should order for history’s sake; insiders whisper that you might be happier with bacon fried rice or the cheeseburger. The drum