She creates all the recipes here on Dinner, then Dessert, fueled in no small part by her love for bacon. Appalachian gal here. One of my favorite ways to eat cabbage is in stuffed cabbage rolls (or golabki as my Polish husband calls them.) We also use third-party cookies that help us analyze and understand how you use this website. We have a favorite marinade, casserole and sandwich. Once the cooler weather hits soups are a great go to dinner. Love soup, too, and it will hit the spot on a cool autumn day. There is something about harvesting cabbage in the cool weather, just after a light frost that brings out its natural sweetness. Cook, breaking the large pieces of the meat with the back of a wooden spoon, for 5-7 minutes. You can completely omit the beef and use vegetable broth to make this vegetarian. I am a trained Private Chef of almost 10 years. Dinner, then Dessert, Inc. owns the copyright on all images and text and does not allow for its original recipes and pictures to be reproduced anywhere other than at this site unless authorization is given. Just brown the meat, chop the veggies, and throw everything in a pot to simmer. In the recipe below, for the liquid, I used a mix of chicken stock with water. You can also add uncooked rice about an hour (on high) before the time is up. Seriously cannot wait to try this cabbage soup. Just like cabbage rolls, we want to go with green cabbage. Among the vegetables I grow in my fall garden, I would have a hard time choosing a favorite. Add in the diced tomatoes, crushed tomatoes, beef broth and the cooked beef and let simmer on low heat for 15 minutes then stir in the cooked rice and cook until its warmed through and serve. But on a busy weeknight? Add in the onion and cook until translucent. amzn_assoc_tracking_id = "myhomemader0f-20"; Chef approved recipes for dinners and desserts. This week will be cool in SOCa so I’m looking forward to soup on my menu before we get our Santa Ana winds and we’re back to salads for a