However, dip powder systems came to save such people’s lives because instead of damaging the nails, it tends to strengthen and nourish them. I had the salon do SNS and I kept my face away. Not until you have been exposed and your body has marked that antigen or allergen as being foreign and threatening can it respond. Hi Sheila, I appreciate this blog post very much. I'm a nail tech and have seen this type of allergic reaction before. So I've replied to a bunch of these comments gradually, as I have been doing research (Im an RN and work nights, so I've had some free time and I'm so shocked at how sick this made me and how I was never warned, etc!!!!). I'm really sorry you're dealing with it. A recent thought I had was the acetone I was using, I had used 100% acetone and then switched to ones with various additives and I’m wondering if the additives are part of the problem? Once Covid hit I couldn’t get them done Turns out they have a chemical in them called Ethyl Cyanoacrylate (it’s glue- like a super/crazy glue) which is harmful and can cause respiratory problems and allergy symptoms. I had a problem with the Gelish Dip kit.I used the lint wipe they provide to wipe off the top coat brush.That caused a chemical burn.I contacted the company and they said cotton can cause a problem if used to wipe brushes.They do not state this anywhere on their kit.They admitted it should be listed on their packaging.I requested my money back and asked that they include a warning.They seemed interested in my concerns in July.They asked for pics of my thumb that was burned.I provided all the info to them.They have stopped answering my emails.I am interested to know if anyone else has had this happen to them! Ensure that you always monitor your body after a dip powder manicure for possible allergic reactions. I believe the general consensus is that the problem causing the reaction is the binders. It starts in my chest it feels wheezy. I wondered if it was the binders and base so my ne